top of page

the leventina valley

35653118350_df8a2a9648_o (1).jpg

Calonico Church along the Strada Alta

15021940898_7fa299c3e7_o.jpg

Traditional Leventinese house in Sobrio

The Leventina Valley is the northernmost region of the Canton of Ticino, at the foot of the Gotthard Pass, the main crossing point of the Alps. This strategic location in the heart of the Swiss Alps has always shaped the history of this region, making it the main communication route between northern and southern Europe for many centuries.

Leventina is the perfect region for mountain lovers. Thanks to its breathtaking views, the many side valleys with fresh alpine lakes and villages with traditional wooden architecture, it is the perfect place for holidays with friends or family to spend outdoors.

The village of Osco, in which the Casa Bella Oschesina stands, is located in the center of the Valley at 1,150 meters above sea level with a panoramic view of the middle and upper Leventina and of Faido: the man town of the Valley, located on the valley floor. In Faido there is the nearest railway station (with Postbus service to Osco), supermarkets, sports shops, bars and restaurants.

Osco is the arrival of the first stage of the famous Strada Alta trekking: a wonderful three-day route from Airolo to Biasca that runs through the entire valley along the ancient mule track in the middle of the mountains that for centuries led armies, traders and ordinary travelers along the Via Alpina of the Gotthard.

The Leventina Valley is served both by long-distance rail transport and by the motorway that crosses the valley. The Faido highway exit can be reached in just over an hour and a half from both Milan and Zurich and in 10 minutes you can reach Osco via a pleasant panoramic road.

50488949238_c64802eb1f_o.jpg

Traditional Leventinese house in Rossura

28246922217_902c24c1e5_o.jpg

Rossura Church and Osco in the distance

bottom of page

top of page

die leventina

35653118350_df8a2a9648_o (1).jpg

Kirche von Calonico an der Strada Alta

15021940898_7fa299c3e7_o.jpg

Traditionelles Leventina Haus in Sobrio

Das Leventina-Tal ist die nördlichste Region des Kantons Tessin, am Fuße des Gotthardpasses, dem Hauptübergang der Alpen. Diese strategische Lage im Herzen der Schweizer Alpen hat die Geschichte dieser Region seit Jahren geprägt und machte sie für viele Jahrhunderte zum wichtigsten Verkehrsweg zwischen Nord- und Südeuropa.

Die Leventina ist die perfekte Region für Bergliebhaber. Dank ihrer atemberaubenden Aussichten, den vielen Seitentälern mit frischen Alpenseen und Dörfern mit traditioneller Holzarchitektur ist sie der perfekte Ort für einen Urlaub mit Freunden oder Familie.

Das Dorf Osco, in dem sich die Casa Bella Oschesina befindet, liegt in der Mitte des Tals auf 1.150 Metern Höhe mit einem Panoramablick auf die mittlere und obere Leventina und auf Faido: die grösste Stadt des Tals, die auf dem Talboden liegt. In Faido gibt es den nächsten Bahnhof (mit Postbusverbindung nach Osco), Supermärkte, Sportgeschäfte, Bars und Restaurants.

In Osco endet die erste Etappe der berühmten Strada Alta: eine wunderschöne dreitägige Route von Airolo nach Biasca, die das ganze Tal durchquert. Diese Route hat jahrhundertelang Händler und Reisende durch die Via Alpina des Gotthards geführt.

Das Leventina-Tal ist sowohl mit dem Zug als auch mit dem Auto über die Autobahn, die das Tal durchquert, zu erreichen. Die Autobahnausfahrt Faido ist sowohl von Mailand als auch von Zürich aus in etwas mehr als eineinhalb Stunden zu erreichen, und in 10 Minuten gelangt man über eine angenehme Panoramastraße nach Osco.

50488949238_c64802eb1f_o.jpg

Traditionelles Leventina Haus in Rossura

28246922217_902c24c1e5_o.jpg

Kirche von Rossura und Osco in der Ferne

bottom of page